3 Simple Rules to an Amazing Life

My uncle had an amazing life. A truly amazing life. He had a great automotive job that he absolutely loved. He was deeply in love with his wife and was a really great dad to his son and daughter.

They lived in a beautiful home on a cul-de-sac in Ohio. He rebuilt cars in his free time, and attended every one of his son’s football games, his daughter’s sports events, and he never missed a church function. He was truly a blessed man and he was honestly loved by everyone.

My uncle sadly died at a young age of a heart attack. His daughter was in college and his son a senior in high school. I was in my early 20s. His passing was another lesson on why you should live your best life … a life that you love and you become who you want to be.

During his short time here, he sure made the most out of life. He lived by his moral code. The kind of guy that helped you when you needed it and was there even when you didn’t.

I was blessed to know him and even though he wasn’t my uncle by blood, I loved just the same. He even helped me paint my 1976 Camaro when I was a teen. I picked a terrible color that was supposed to be orange-ish, but looked more coral pink. But he painted it as if I chose the best color and he was painting the most expensive car in the world. He was that kind of guy.

I drove that pink Camaro for years. I got teased. I sure got a lot of attention. Not always the good kind. But I still had so much pride because we painted it together.

I have a very different life than Richard. Instead of a hometown midwestern kind of life, my life is more international and exploring the world. Even though our lifestyles are so different, what he taught me has shaped my life. Still, to this day, I am inspired by how he lived and who he was a man. I also try to live by the same code that he lived by.

  • Be a kind person, even when the world isn’t kind to you.

  • Do a good job, even when nobody is looking, or will know.

  • Family first, but help others every chance you get.

  • Love is not only a feeling, but an action.

  • Be happy. Be grateful. Enjoy life.

I’m not sure why Richard came to mind today as I wrote this. I normally like to use examples of people who are a rags-to-riches story, have travelled to many countries, built businesses, or are world-class in their field.

It is a reminder that you don’t have to be rich, famous, a champion, or run a billion company to live a truly extraordinary life.

I believe everyone should be wealthy (wealthy enough to be very comfortable) because having money allows you to live a good life and fully express yourself as the person that you want to be, and help others without worry.

Wealth also comes in many forms besides money and things. Health, family, friends, location, inner peace, happiness and love.

If you want to live a truly amazing life, then the only way is to choose it and create it.

Not many people are blessed like my uncle. That’s because not many choose a life they love and then do what it takes to make it happen. And be the person they want to be.

At the time, I didn’t understand the importance of the answer when I asked Richard, “How did you get here? The great job, the great house, an amazing family, and being a great guy?”

I was 19 or 20 when he said to me, “I followed my passion in cars, I gave more than what was asked of me, that made me the easy choice for raises and promotions, and I had great mentors. Everything else just fell into place.”

Over the years, I got to meet some of his mentors. Bill taught him how to paint cars so that the paint looked a mile deep. Jack taught him how to be a manager when he was promoted. Friends from his church guided him along the way.

We don’t go on this journey alone. Not if we are going to be truly successful. I am not just talking about money or business success. But success in happiness, lifestyle and mission too.

Do you also believe that we are here to find our purpose or mission in life? It is so easy to get stuck in the routine of work, pay bills, try to achieve, and hustle to get ahead, that we forget to live along the way.

Many of my private coaching clients are successful in business. They figured out the money part, but they messed up the other parts in the pursuit of success.

Success always includes a strong work ethic, discipline, and hustle. But some times, we lose sight of what also matters. I admit, I’ve been in that extreme too. My marriage paid the price because I was working 16 hour days , 7 days a week. I succeeded young and fast, but paid the price in my personal life.

Then I went to the other extreme, sold everything and travelled the world, but didn’t pay enough attention to money. It was a great 10 years, with unbelievable experiences and memories. But that was also misguided.

Often people tell me, “You’ve lived a hundred lives.” Meaning that I have had so many truly amazing experiences, sometimes having a close brush with death in my pursuit of extraordinary experiences. These all taught me important lessons, and how to recognize them in other people.

Most clients tell me something to that extent of, “I chose to work with you because you’ve been where I am. You know what it’s like and how it feels. And how to start over and make the second half, the best half.” That’s an actual quote, by the way.

The spiritual people I admire most are the ones that have been through hell, won the battled over their demons, and then found their spiritual path. The ones who grew up with nothing and then built a wealthy life. The ones that were broken and then found a way to raise themselves up.

It gives them a unique perspective. A deeper understanding. And keeps them humble and in gratitude.

It’s impressive, but I cannot relate as well to someone who was born rich and became richer. Or the one who never had a challenge in life and never went through the struggle.

I also think that there is too much online “flexing.” Look at me in my Ferrari, flashing cash and lifestyle. There is too much bashing others and not enough lifting up. It’s cool to show your life because it is inspiring and motivational. But when it comes from a place of ego, it’s toxic. There’s a lot of that on social media.

3 Simple rules to create an amazing life.

  1. Choose something you really enjoy for work. Even better if it’s also your passion. Your passion can also be outside of work, but you should enjoy how you make money since that is half of your life.

  2. Get clear … Really clear about what an amazing life will be for you. If you don’t have a target, there is no way to hit it.

  3. Take action with deep faith that some day, somehow, some way, you will be living that life. You don’t to know how right away, but you have to take action in that direction.

When you choose a direction, get clear on what success looks like, and then take bold action towards making that happen … Magic happens.

When you do this, you will be amazed about how doors open up, people suddenly appear in your life, opportunities will find you, and everything falls into place.

To living your amazing life …
Croix

PS,

I have found that accountability from a mentor has made the biggest differences in my life. My mentors have been instrumental in helping me. It’s why I became a life transformation coach. So that I could help others create a life they truly love.

If you think I might be a good fit to help you on your journey, then let’s jump on a call and chat. We’ll talk about where you are and where you want to go and how to get there.

If we are a good fit, I will tell you about ways we can work together. If we are not, I will point you in the right direction that will serve you. You can schedule a discovery call with me here. No strings attached. 

PPS,
If you feel a friend would like this weekly newsletter, please share it with them by forwarding this email, or sharing it to social media.

My goal is to share healthy and positive information that will help you create a better life. If I’ve done that at any level, sharing this newsletter is a great way to help your friends with some motivation and success strategies.